From the KnowledgeBase

Title:
Moving On: After leaving Princeton, Blackboard is only available to you as Guest
Synopsis:
How to download and take Blackboard files with you when you leave the University.


Solution:

How can I migrate/download/take with me my files on Blackboard as I am getting ready to leave the University?


For Students

Once your Princeton netID account has been closed, you will only have access to Blackboard as a "Guest," meaning you will be able to view little more than syllabi and course descriptions. Unfortunately, there is no way to mass package files from Blackboard to take with you.

It is best not to think of Blackboard as a storage space where files can be downloaded. You will have submitted files from your computer to Blackboard, so make sure that you are backing up your computer and saving your intelectual property in a place where you can reference them later.


For Faculty

Once your Princeton netID account account has been closed, you will only have access to Blackboard as a "Guest," meaning you will be able to view little more than syllabi and course descriptions. OIT can work with you on exporting your course sites for use in another Bb system, or exporting just the files you've placed in a course site -- even after you have left the University. However, OIT cannot package assignments and posts that were submitted by your students.

Contact blackboard@princeton.edu for questions and help before leaving Princeton.


Related Links:


Last Updated:
April 12, 2013

Solution ID:
1152